meldewdesigns – Paper Craft Central!

A little 'bout my Etsy site and a little 'bout my life!

Happy Easter – the celebration of a miracle! April 12, 2009

I can’t believe we’re already into the middle of April.  Time really does fly by so quickly…I’ve been officially walking now for almost 5 months and it feels terrific.  Not one day has gone by in those 5 months that I haven’t been thankful.  Every morning, I step out of bed, and say to myself, “YEP!  Still walking!!”

Here’s what hope and a damn good sense of determination is so important I was told :

  1. By three different doctors that I should amputate from the knee down.
  2. That I would never walk again.
  3. That if I DID walk again (and that was a big IF), I would always have to wear a brace.
  4. Walking barefoot or with a regular shoe (no brace) would NEVER be an option for me.

Here I am, almost two years later…Been through 3 leg surgeries, two wheelchairs, a walker, a shower chair, a cane, crutches, etc…A WHOLE lot of struggle, pain, and depression/tears…A great support of family and friends….and a BUNCH of prayers!!!  🙂

 

Guess what?  I am walking and I do it barefoot and I do it in a regular shoe (NO BRACE).  How’s that for a miracle?  Being that it is Easter today and Easter is a celebration of a miracle in itself, I thought it was only fitting that I sit and write about another miracle!

 

My point?  No matter how hard life hits you, no matter what you are going through, no matter how bad things look, no matter what glim outcome you are given – NEVER give up!!

 

Happy Easter!  And thanks to those of you who have supported me and lifted me throughout this whole ordeal.  I love you all and am so, so appreciative for you.  You know who you are…

 

Check out my foot…it’s not pretty, but it’s all mine.  The scars are an everyday reminder to me just how lucky I am…  🙂  Hover your mouse over the pics for an explanation… 

Comments are welcome and appreciated.  🙂

 

6 Responses to “Happy Easter – the celebration of a miracle!”

  1. wimsy Says:

    What a rough road you have traveled and what a miracle you have been blessed with.
    I know it hasn’t been easy for you but I am so glad you are walking and that you never gave up.

  2. You go girl! Doctors are definitely not the end all, and you
    have proved it!

  3. Rhonda Says:

    (((((mel))))) I am so very happy that things are better. This is wonderful news and such an answer to prayers.

    You are sooooo awesome! Keep up the GREAT work my friend! (((((hugs))))
    Rhonda

  4. Lorena Says:

    Truly it’s a miracle

  5. Frenchmum Says:

    Good for you. I’m sure your positive attitude helps you too.

  6. Lydia Says:

    Wow! I was touched by your blog and so happy for you to have turned it around in such a way. It is a great gift to be able to listen to yourself and be able to carry on no matter what so called professionals say.. Excellent! It really proves how strong will and determination can achieve anything you want! xx


Leave a Reply

